Somerset County Family Law Appeals Lawyers
Handling NJ Family Law Appeals in Morris, Middlesex, Hunterdon, Union Counties & throughout the State of New Jersey
At the end of a divorce, both parties are required to abide by the terms outlined in the final decree. If you are dissatisfied with the outcome of your divorce case, DeTommaso Law Group, LLC can help you file an appeal of the decision.
Alternatively, if your ex-spouse is appealing your divorce decree but you do not wish for the terms to change, our Somerset County appeals attorneys can help you fight their appeal.
Contact our aggressive New Jersey family law appeals lawyers today at (908) 274-3028.
Grounds for Divorce Appeals in Somerset County
If you think that the court made an erroneous decision in a matter pertaining to your divorce, you can file an appeal. An appeal is a request for an appellate court to review and overturn the decision made by the trial court that handled your divorce.
In New Jersey, you may file an appeal if you believe the trial court:
- Failed to make sufficient findings of fact
- Failed to address all issues
- Failed to apply controlling law correctly
- Failed to conduct a full hearing when necessary
- Abused its discretion by ruling contrary to the evidence
It is often tough to reverse a decision, as the law generally favors the finality of a divorce judgment. To avoid wasting time and money, it is critical to consult with a team of experienced attorneys to determine if you have appropriate grounds to file an appeal.
Learn more about filing a Motion for Reconsideration from our blog: "What to Do When the Judge Gets It Wrong: Motions for Reconsideration Explained."
The Timing of a Divorce Appeal
If you wish to appeal your divorce decree, it is important to do it as soon as possible after your divorce is finalized. In New Jersey, you must file an appeal within 45 days of the entry of a final judgment. If you miss this deadline, you have an additional 30 days to request permission to file an appeal late, which may or may not be granted.
In the event that your ex-spouse files an appeal and you would like to cross-appeal, you must do so within 15 days of receiving the Notice of Appeal.
Contact Our Somerset County Appeals Lawyers Now
Appellate review of divorce cases is uncommon, but not unheard of. At DeTommaso Law Group, LLC, we have extensive knowledge of divorce appeal laws and have guided many clients through the complex legal process. We can put our 125 years of combined experience to work for you to reverse or maintain the terms of your divorce decree.
Call (908) 274-3028 today to schedule your consultation with our skilled family law appeals attorneys.