Divorce Lawyers in New Jersey
Your Guides through the NJ Divorce Process
There are a variety of issues that can arise during a divorce. It is crucial to have a New Jersey divorce attorney on your side who has extensive experience successfully handling all aspects of a New Jersey divorce.
At DeTommaso Law Group, LLC in Warren, NJ, we offer comprehensive services to help you get the most out of your divorce in NJ. We have over 125 years of combined legal experience, meaning the legal professionals on our team have a wealth of knowledge, resources, and skills to offer.
Our New Jersey divorce attorneys can help you handle any issue during your divorce, including:
- Alimony/spousal support
- Child custody
- Child support
- College costs
- Domestic violence
- Enforcement of court orders
- Separation agreements
Why You Need a Divorce Attorney in New Jersey
Divorce is never an easy process. Even simple, uncontested divorces involve complicated forms and legal processes that, without proper legal counsel, could be problematic. Don't risk mistakes and other complications – hire a divorce lawyer.
When you hire a NJ divorce lawyer from DeTommaso Law Group, LLC to represent you, you will have:
- A responsive attorney to answer your questions and put you at ease
- A team of legal professionals to handle the paperwork and provide you with support
- 125+ years of combined legal experience on hand
- Aggressive advocates to fight for your rights and the outcome you deserve
Without a divorce attorney, you are left to navigate the difficult and emotional process of divorce with no help, support, or advocacy. Don't take that chance – call (908) 274-3028 to schedule a consultation with a New Jersey divorce lawyer.
Meet Our New Jersey Divorce Attorneys
How to Start the Divorce Process in New Jersey
So how do you begin a divorce? Where do you start with a divorce? In New Jersey, the divorce process usually begins with one spouse filing for divorce and serving the divorce papers to the other spouse, who must then respond.
Here is a quick step-by-step process on how to start the divorce process in NJ:
- Consult a divorce attorney (highly recommended, even in uncontested cases)
- Fill out the necessary divorce forms
- File the divorce forms at your local courthouse
- Pay the filing fee for divorce in NJ
- Serve copies of your divorce papers to your spouse
- Your spouse must respond to the Summons and Divorce Complaint within 35 days
That is how to begin the divorce process in New Jersey. Once you've filed for divorce in Somerset County, you will either need to reach an out-of-court agreement via mediation/arbitration or, in cases of contested divorce, you will need to go to court.
How Much Does Divorce Cost in NJ?
When you are filing your official complaint for divorce in New Jersey, you will be required to pay a $300 fee. There is an additional $25 parenting workshop fee if the couple has children. The entire cost of the divorce varies based on the complexity of assets, as well as time spent negotiating child support, custody and alimony. If the relationship between the spouses is amicable, the process can go much smoother and will result in less expense. Having a detailed and organized prenuptial agreement can also play a substantial part in the ease and cost of divorce.
Separation Agreements in NJ
Sometimes, relationships just don’t work as expected. You have the right to separate from your spouse at any time without a judge’s permission. However, there are some practical matters that you will need to address, such as child custody and temporary alimony.
For these matters and more, you will want to create a separation agreement with the help of a qualified New Jersey divorce lawyer. If you and your spouse can agree to the terms of separation on your own, you will not need to go to court.
Divorce Arbitration & Mediation in New Jersey
Deciding to divorce is often challenging. If you and your spouse believe it is best to part and go your separate ways, you may be able to settle your divorce outside of the courtroom.
DeTommaso Law Group, LLC provides solid legal counsel for couples who wish to handle their NJ divorce with the help of a mediator or arbitrator instead of a judge. To find out if arbitration or mediation is right for you, contact our skilled divorce attorneys in New Jersey today.
Support in New Jersey Divorce Cases
New Jersey divorce laws protect the spouse who either had a lower income during the marriage or did not work at all. The higher-income spouse will be required to make alimony payments to the other spouse for a specified period. Whether you are being required to pay or are seeking spousal support, we can help.
Children & Divorce in New Jersey
Any divorce is painful, but divorces that involve children are especially challenging. If you have minor children during your divorce in New Jersey, you will need to address issues such as a parenting plan, child support payments, and how your child’s college education will be paid for. When you turn to our New Jersey divorce attorneys, we can provide the strong legal counsel you require.
Once a divorce decree is finalized in New Jersey, is that it? Most of the time, yes. However, there are some instances where divorce orders can be appealed or modified. Contact us today to find out if you have a qualifying circumstance that enables you to file an appeal or make modifications.
If your spouse is failing to pay alimony or child support or violating your child custody order, we can also help you enforce the terms of your divorce decree.
>> Read about the process for reconsidering a motion in our blog: What to Do When the Judge Gets It Wrong: Motions for Reconsideration Explained.
New Jersey Divorce FAQ
What are the Grounds for Divorce in New Jersey?
Divorce can be a difficult and emotional process. It is important to understand the grounds for divorce in New Jersey so that you can be prepared for what to expect.
The grounds for divorce in New Jersey are as follows:
- Chronic illness
- Mental cruelty
- Physical cruelty
- Domestic violence
If you and your spouse have been separated for at least eighteen months, you may be eligible for a divorce on the grounds of separation. If you have been the victim of domestic violence, you may be able to file for a divorce on the grounds of domestic violence. If either you or your spouse has committed adultery, you may be able to file for a divorce on the grounds of adultery. These are just some of the grounds for divorce in New Jersey. It is important to speak with an experienced divorce attorney to discuss your specific situation and determine which ground or grounds may apply to your case.
How Long Does it Take to Get a Divorce in New Jersey?
The length of New Jersey divorces varies widely, but the average "quick" divorce can take as little as 6-8 weeks. Most divorces in New Jersey take several months or even years to be finalized, however, due to mediation and litigation.
The best way to know how long your divorce might take is to speak with a New Jersey divorce lawyer! This is because every divorce is different and will have its own timeline. How long a divorce takes will depend on varying circumstances surrounding complex property division, support and custody disputes, and busy court schedules. Even uncontested divorces have varying times to completion, because it may take some couples longer to reach an agreement than others.
Do You Have to Be Separated Before Filing for Divorce in New Jersey?
If you have already been living "separate and apart" for 18 months or longer, or if you have been married for fewer than 6 months, then you do not have to wait to file for divorce.
New Jersey does have a waiting periods for divorce for fault-based divorce petitions. These waiting periods vary depending on what the grounds are such as adultery, cruelty, desertion, etc. For example, if you want to get a divorce in NJ based on "irreconcilable differences," then you must first provide proof to the court that your marriage was breaking down for at least 6 months before filing for divorce.
Speak with a divorce attorney in New Jersey for the best idea of whether or not your divorce case will require a "waiting period."
Is New Jersey a 50/50 State When it Comes to Divorce & Marital Property?
No, New Jersey is not a 50/50 state when it comes to divorce. This means that your marital property will not be divided in half should you and your partner choose to dissolve your marriage – instead, it will be divided "equitably."
New Jersey is an equitable division state. This means that the court will divide marital assets – such as bank accounts, properties, and the marital house – in a manner it determines to be fair and equitable, which often does not end up being "equal." This is one reason why it's so important to retain an experienced divorce lawyer in New Jersey.
Contact DeTommaso Law Group, LLC – Warren Divorce Lawyers
New Jersey divorce laws are complex. In order to ensure that your rights and assets are protected throughout the divorce process, you need a recognized and experienced legal team on your side. At DeTommaso Law Group, LLC, our team is known for results and aggressive representation. You can trust us to get the job done!
Unhappy with your current choice of a divorce lawyer? Speak with us today to see how we can take over your case and work toward the outcome you want! Our New Jersey divorce attorneys proudly and competently represent clients all across the state, including Somerset County, Morris County, Middlesex County, Hunterdon County, and Union County.
Call (908) 274-3028 to learn how our New Jersey divorce lawyers can help you pursue a better future.